BOLD Portal (authorized personnel only)

Oregon Health and Science University The OHSU Comprehensive Pain Center offers a comprehensive range of services for patients with acute, cancer or chronic pain. Through the combined expertise of a multidisciplinary team of pain specialists, we offer advanced treatment options in a supportive, compassionate environment..


Dr. David Sibell Dr. David Sibell is the primary investigator for the LESS study at Oregon Health & Science University. Dr. Sibell joined the Oregon Health & Science University Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine in 1997 after completing his Fellowship in Pain Medicine at the University of Virginia. He has been on the faculty of the Comprehensive Pain Center since that time, currently as associate professor specializing in painful disorders of the back and neck. He served as Program Director for the Pain Medicine Fellowship at OHSU from 1999 to 2011. Dr. Sibell serves as Clinical Operations Director for the Comprehensive Pain Center and is a charter member of the OHSU Spine Center.

His publications include scientific articles involving interventional pain medicine, as well as the book, The 5-Minute Pain Management Consult, which he co-edited. Dr. Sibell is board certified in both pain medicine and anesthesiology.


Richard Deyo Dr. Richard Deyo, MD, MPH is OHSU Professor and the Kaiser-Permanente Endowed Professor of Evidence-Based Medicine in the Department of Family Medicine at Oregon Health and Science University. Dr. Deyo is a valued co-investigator of the BOLD project who has a long-standing research interest in measuring patient function, involving patients in clinical decisions, and managing low back pain. He has recently been studying inappropriate use of medical technology, and the commercial, political, and media forces that affect it. The resulting book, Hope or Hype: The Obsession with Medical Advances and the High Cost of False Promises, was published in 2005.





The BOLD Project is supported by grant number 1R01HS019222-01 from the
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)